I love to hear myself talk

Let’s face it, this is probably true for most teachers.  I know it’s true for me.  And now I’m getting older and really do know best, so isn’t it justified?

Here is a quote from Alexis Wiggens’ blog post that I have had in my head since I read it: “If I could go back and change my classes now, I would immediately: . . . set an egg timer every time I get up to talk and all eyes are on me. When the timer goes off, I am done. End of story. I can go on and on. I love to hear myself talk. I often cannot shut up. This is not really conducive to my students’ learning, however much I might enjoy it.”

(And by the way, do you think I could learn to write so effectively as she does?  In an interview I heard this morning, the late Kent Haruf said that good writing takes more practice than talent.  I don’t need to be as good as him, but I would like to hold people’s interest.  Or maybe even prompt a reader to respond in the comments.  I’ll keep practicing.)

One thing I have done for the last half of my teaching career is to take myself out of the front of the classroom.  Ideally my classroom has no front and I sit at a student desk among the students.  My goal is for us to learn together, not for me to give information and for them to receive it.

I’m not exactly sure how to work on limiting my talking.  I think that is code for: I don’t really think I have a problem with this.  Maybe I should do a wall sit every time I start speaking, then I’ll quickly know when I’ve gone on too long.

Still thinking about this one.

Standard

One thought on “I love to hear myself talk

  1. Miss Calculate says:

    Teachers talk to fill that huge hulking void that hangs in the room. (Think of me in Book Club.) Years ago, San Diego City Schools had a model of teaching (The Workshop Method?? or some such) whereby the teacher only spoke/taught for 10 or so minutes, and then demonstrated and then put the kids to work and practice the lesson. Say, show, do. In theory it was brilliant, but in practice. . . .who can teach that efficiently? Also, is being The Teacher and taking a center, front role such a bad thing? Don’t they want you to be?

    Like

Leave a Reply

