Fixing the rubric

I have washed off the green facepaint from my moment as Yoda this morning and am ready to explain my new battle plan.

photo-7

Just to be sure I cover it all, and address all concerns, I’ll stick with the visually unsophisticated but reliable 1, 2, 3 method of organization.  These refer back to the numbered complaints in this post.

Fix #1: I deleted the column N/A.  Since the possible marks range from Exceeds Expectations to Needs Improvement, putting N/A on the far side of Needs Improvement was visually distracting.  Just like I’m finding the photo above to be visually distracting as I write.  Scrolling down to put me out of sight . . .  And so I just got rid of that column.  If it is not applicable, the student can just leave that row unmarked.

Fix #2: I deleted the explanation of each row and left a blank space.  (Well, not on the first one on the page.  I left the full description on each rubric at the top of the page, but I deleted the descriptions in the other three on the page.)  I found that the comments I added to explain my checkmarks were the most useful part, so I gave some room for comments.  And I told the students that if they chose anything besides Meets Expectations that they needed to explain it in the comment space.  After five class meetings, it’s clear this seems to work for them.

Fixes #3 and 4: After printing the rubrics but before photocopying them, I added the dates of the class meetings myself.  I was having trouble getting the students to add the dates and it made tracking progress and assignment completion impossible.    This was, I have to say, a simple but brilliant change.  (I think Jen Fleischer staples hers all in order and keeps them together all quarter, which would be another way to do it.)

Fix #5:  So, this problem was the absence of any info on content on the rubric.  And I’m going to address this in a different space.  And another post.

Fix #6: This problem was about tracking corrections.  I have fixed part of it by using the blank comment space to repeat every day: “Still missing 10/23 and 10/24 homework.”  This written nagging reminder seems to be helping students remember to turn in incomplete or late assignments.  And then the record of this will be there at quarter-end!  Hurray!  This does not address the issue of having students repeat and review the content they didn’t quite understand.  I think this is related to Fix #5 above and so I’ll tackle it in that post.

Fix #7: Got rid of the Evidence-based Writing row.  It was not used frequently enough and typically was being duplicated in quiz and writing feedback which goes on the paper to the student, and in an abbreviated narrative form on my computer.

Well, I feel like I’ve just cleaned out a messy drawer!  Here is the new rubric.  Sorry it’s so inelegant.  The non-bold descriptions in each row are deleted in all but the first rubric on a sheet of paper (there are a total of four on each page.)

Date___________________________ Assignment ___________________________________

 

E M D NI  
        Homework Process:   Assigned reading completed, accompanying brief notes cover main points of the reading. Assigned questions are answered thoroughly. Questions not completed show partial answers and student questions to ask in class. Work is neat and organized.
        Correction Process:   Any missing information has been added. Make-up and absent work is completed.   Mistakes on previous assignments are corrected as necessary.
        Individual and Class Work: Engaged listening and thoughtful, on-topic questions and comments. Clear speech with no fiddling or fidgeting. Focused on the assigned task and contributing positively to progress. Respectful of contributions made by others. Supportive of classmates. Asking questions of classmates or teacher as needed without disturbing others. If work is completed early, reading from Up Front magazine, text or other approved source.
        Preparedness: Arrive promptly in uniform and with all required materials (binder, iPad, activity book, colored pen, pencil, paper, etc.). Immediately take out homework and other study tools.
        Personal Responsibility for Learning: Asking questions to clarify your understanding when necessary. Coming in for extra help when needed. Doing appropriate practice and review at home. Taking advantage of extra resources to improve your understanding. Paying close attention to corrections on homework and assessments to gauge your strengths and areas needing improvement.
        Taking Risks and Making Mistakes: Maintaining a positive attitude even when faced with challenging material. Willingness to answer a question or offer a thought or explanation when unsure of correctness.

                          E = Exceeds Expectations  M = Meets Expectations                               D = Developing                             NI = Needs Improvement

Standard

Leave a Reply

