Students using a twitter feed

Last year, my fabulous colleague, Sara Ahmed, showed us all the twitter feed she has for her classroom.  I found it so exciting that she was sharing the work she and her students were doing – with other teachers, with authors and with parents.

I created my own twitter feed in August in preparation for the beginning of this school year.  (Each blog post is automatically shared via a tweet when I post here.)  I started following news outlets to keep my social studies classes apprised of current events (see upcoming post).  And when the school year started, I started documenting our work in class.  It’s SO great.  I love the chance to capture all the excellent work students do, sometimes with photos.  Just think, how fun it is for my little sister (the only one who ever “favorites” [reads maybe?] my tweets) to know all that we are working on!

My challenge was bringing the twitter feed into class.  When we read the news together, there is a lot of noise that distracts from the current events we are looking for.  Probably I could tweak my feed so that all the sports and cultural news wouldn’t get in our way . . . Anyone know how to do this?  Post in the comments, please.

BUT! This week, I was so excited by some journal responses from my students that I wanted to find a way for them to share – with each other.  And then, I realized we could share with each other and with the world (or at least my 23 followers).  So during class, while they peer-edited their paragraphs on development (a photo of which I also tweeted), they each had a chance to come up and tweet from their journal entry.

The assignment was: “If it were your job to design policies to decrease the single-use packaging in San Diego, what would you recommend?  Give reasons to support your plans.”  The kids did the typing and we worked together to make them provocative and educational.  I had twitter opened on my projector so that as they worked, they could look up and see their classmates’ ideas.  It was so cool!

Here is a sample tweet:  WWSS7D? – Put a price on plastic bags. People don’t want to spend money on a useless thing like a single-use plastic bag.  (WWSS7D? = What would Social Studies 7 do?)

Another: WWSS7D? – Stop using paper, textbooks and pencils all the time. How about computers, iPads and Leapfrogs?

Check out my twitter feed – @TBSVandeweghe.

Standard

One thought on “Students using a twitter feed

  1. Miss Calculate says:

    Love reading your thoughts and imagining your classroom. How clever of you! The blog will serve as your own rubric at year’s end. Such a great way to record your process. But never again ding yourself for only teaching one course. I have often fantasized that that’s how it should be for new teachers (I know you’re not one, but you are starting a new practice.) If a teacher had only one class for maybe up to five years– or add a class a year, say– then she would actually have a chance to study how learning happens. Like learning to surf in the whitewater before paddling out to the swell. Alex

    Like

Leave a Reply

